Technology Stalking

Posted on October 30, 2011 by

4


By: Avanzia

After having children, knowing I could purchase a cell phone with GPS made me feel at ease. It wasn’t until I read an article in “Ms Magazine” that I realized the danger in it.

 

 Having being in an abusive relationship myself, where stalking was a big problem, I never thought an abuser or stalker could use the GPS system in cell phones to track their victims. This makes me incredibly uneasy.

 There are many victims of abuse and stalking, and this technology, intended for the use of finding children, is now another tool to use against their victims. What can one do in this situation?

 Many victims do not even know if the program is on their cell phones. There are ways to turn off the GPS on your phone. Every phone is different and their GPS programs are as well. You can Google your specific phone; for example type “turning off GPS on a blackberry.” You can also look in your phone manual or ask your cell phone provider how to deactivate it.

