Love Your Body!!!

Posted on November 8, 2011 by

8



By: SPH

October 20th was Love Your Body day at California State University San Marcos. We held an event to promote the beauty in everybody, because EVERYONE is beautiful regardless of their size, height, weight, hair, skin, eyes, gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, and age!

For those of you who are not familiar with Love Your Body, it is a campaign that was created by NOW, National Organization for Women, to challenge the message that everyones value, especially women and girls, is best measured through their willingness and ability to embody current beauty standards.

In today’s society, the media and beauty industry, including diet industries, tell us being admired, desired, and envied based on our looks is a most important aspect of our true beauty. And we are constantly reminded that we need frequent renovations on our looks in order to stay beautiful.

Wrong! Our beauty is not, and should never be, based on narrow, unrealistic standards the media and the beauty industry sets: fair skin, long hair, six feet tall, 100 lbs….

We do not need to follow the media’s standard of beauty. We do not need cosmetic surgeries to gain confidence and boost our self-esteems. We are all born beautiful in unique, special ways. Simply because we do not look like those unrealistic, airbrushed models from magazines, doesn’t mean we are less beautiful in any way.

So back to CSUSM’s Love You Body day… WTF! was one of the groups out in front of the library celebrating such a great event. We had a big banner out for everyone to respond to society’s ridiculous, unrealistic beauty standards.

We got comments like:

“Do you know how hard it is to get six packs?!”

“I am not a model, but I’m still beautiful!!”

“I love my curves and my curly hair!”

It was great seeing so many positive responses from everyone. I hope we remind ourselves to love our bodies every day. Using those positive thoughts on body image I will tell myself, “Hell yeah I am beautiful, and I love the my body just the way it is!”

