No Vacancies: This Space Has Been Occupied, Part 2—Police Brutality

Posted on November 21, 2011 by

2


By: K.B.

Now that the Occupy Movement is gaining momentum and the media has finally started to give the protestors the attention they deserve, we are seeing many videos and articles surface on the issues of police brutality and excessive force. I, for one, am outraged that the police force who are employed by the taxpayers to “serve and protect” our country are using their power to maliciously attack and unjustifiably arrest citizens who reserve their right to peacefully protest. I feel the biggest hypocrisy of the police is that they are occupying our right to free speech. While most people call upon the men in blue to help them in the wake of criminal activity, it has become apparent that many of the officers are abusing their positions as law enforcers and god only knows what goes on behind the curtain of the police station.

While I don’t mean for this to sound like a rant, I am fed up with the media not giving much attention to these awful brutalities against American citizens. We pride ourselves on being the “land of the free” and people flock to our country to escape persecution from other nations, but when they get here, the reality sets in: we are a militant country, and as long as we don’t cause a fuss (meaning peacefully rally for the common good), we won’t get beat with batons or pepper sprayed. I hope my sarcasm was detected.

At times I feel discouraged to do anything, like the government is too big and I am too small. I always question why this is happening, but I can find no logical answer.  Is anyone being punished for these crimes against the protestors? How come there is no accountability in our law enforcement agencies? Those men who beat and hit the female professor in Berkeley, or the officer who cruelly pepper sprayed the UC Davis students exercising their right to peacefully assemble answer to no one and might get a slap on the wrist in the name of “social justice”. I feel sorry that my country calls these people “peace officers” because as far as I can tell, they are not.

