Why I Had an Abortion: Parts 3 and 4

Posted on December 5, 2011 by

4


By: Anonymous

PART 3

I had my abortion through Planned Parenthood (PP) in San Diego, California. Everyone at PP was incredibly caring, intelligent, and patient. I was treated with respect everywhere I went.           

I arrived at the PP building in San Diego at 11:30 in the morning. There were not protestors outside the building, the street was quiet and calm. There was a security guard at the door who buzzed us in. After I checked in I waited, and waited, and waited. Finally, my name was called and I went in the back with a nurse for a sonogram.

The sonogram was painless. At first I was nervous because I did not know if it would hurt, or if an image of a fully developed baby would pop up on the monitor. I chose to look at the monitor because I felt like I needed to see the fetus. I was pleased I looked because it was simply a dark circle. It did not look like a baby, it looked like a mass of cells.

The nurse informed me I was five weeks. This was a huge comfort to me because the fetus was very undeveloped. If you think you might be pregnant, take a test as soon as possible. I think the earlier you find out, the easier it is to consider all of your options. Keep track of your menstrual cycle and if you are late do not waste any time, take a test and figure out what is the best decision for you.

After the sonogram I went back into the waiting area. About a half hour later I was called back for the procedure. A nurse talked to me and answered all of my questions. She explained what I should do at home after the procedure. She discussed other birth control options with me, and I decided an IUD was the best option.

An IUD is a tiny device placed in the cervix. It is more effective than birth control pills or condoms at preventing pregnancy. Also, it lasts for five years, but if you choose to have children sooner, you can take it out whenever you want. It is so awesome! I no longer worry about remembering to take my pill every night. With a million other things on my mind, the IUD helps alleviate one more worry. Also, if you are on a fixed income the state provides funding for the IUD. I got mine for free! Double awesome!

The abortion itself was painless for me. I chose to take a sedative through an IV. The doctor was very kind and experienced. She performed the procedure quickly and I was sent to a beautiful recovery area. As I sat in a comfortable recliner with a heating pad, a nurse checked on me and gave me antibiotics to take home.

As I left the clinic a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders. I was overcome with happiness and relief. I knew I had made the best possible decision for myself and my future child. I felt good. I felt happy. I felt responsible.

PART 4

If you are sexually active, Planned Parenthood can help find the best birth control option for you. If your period is late, Planned Parenthood can give you a pregnancy test in the clinic, or you can take one at home. The sooner you find out, the better. Waiting does not do anything constructive. I think the sooner you figure out what you are going to do, the better you will feel.

Abortions are not as scary as the media paints them out to be. My abortion was a good experience because I knew I was making the best possible decision. I had a supportive boyfriend, and I talked about my decision with a friend I trusted. Having the support of my boyfriend and an intelligent friend helped me feel secure in my decision. If your period is late do not wait to find out the cause of the delay. Do not be scared to explore all of your options if you are pregnant. Do not be scared to be selfish and remember to think about the life you want for yourself and your child.

For more information about birth control and pregnancy options, please contact Planned Parenthood of San Diego at (888) 743-7526.

